About Us

Early Childhood Council

We are the leading body for childcare centre owners and managers in the ECE sector, representing more than 1,500 centres across New Zealand. We support and encourage the provision of quality early childhood education and care services.

Our Purpose

The Early Childhood Council (ECC) has been supporting and advocating for the early learning sector in Aotearoa New Zealand since 1992.

We are a not-for-profit incorporated society that provide our members with:

  • Events and professional development opportunities
  • Resources and advice on setting up and running a centre
  • Access to discounts and other benefits through our Preferred Supplier Programme
  • A voice into government and education networks on what’s important to the early learning sector.

Our Team

Simon Laube, Chief Executive Officer
Katina Beauchamp, Senior Strategic Advisor
Tracey Miles, Accounts & Administration Officer
Rachel Luo, Events & Marketing Advisor
Alison Herft, Senior Project Advisor
Ingrid Crispin, Member Benefits Advisor

Our Executive Committee

Darius Singh, President
Michelle Bosch, Vice-President
Dianna Jenkinson, Secretary
Lonnie Parker, Treasurer
Annabel Sloss, Committee Member
Emma Norrie, Committee Member
Fitu Ah-Young, Committee Member
Vicki Hill, Committee Member
Allan Wendelborn, Patron
Margie Blackwood, Patron
Sue Kurtovich, Patron

More information

ECC Constitution and Rules

The ECC is governed by its Constitution and Rules, which provides for an Executive Committee elected by members. The Executive Committee comprises a President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, five Executive Members and up to three Patrons (elected by the life members).

Read the Constitution and Rules

Quick Links

No items found.

Become a member

Membership with the Early Childhood Council unlocks a range of benefits for your service and its staff. Join more than 1,500 member centres in New Zealand and become a member today.