About Us

The primary purpose of the ECC is to:

  • Represent the interests of independent early childhood centres; and,
  • To promote the provision of quality early childhood education services

The Early Childhood Council is the largest representative body of licensed, quality early childhood education centres in New Zealand. We have more than 1,100 member centres, 30% of which are community-owned and 70% of which are privately-owned. Our members employ thousands of teachers, and care for tens of thousands of children.

Our member centres range from ten child places to over 150 child places and are spread throughout the country. Membership is voluntary, and open to all licensed independent early childhood centres. A number of centres reflect a variety of specialised educational philosophies, including religious affiliations, Montessori, Reggio Emilia, Pasifika, Rudolf Steiner and Maori.

The Early Childhood Council (ECC) is an incorporated society formed in 1990 from the amalgamation of two earlier bodies, the Licensed Childcare Centres Federation and the Associated Childcare Council. The ECC was officially incorporated in 1991.

The ECC is governed by its constitution, which provides for an Executive Committee elected annually by the membership. The Executive Committee comprises a President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and five Executive Members.

The National Office is based in Wellington, New Zealand.

The ECC's 2017-22 Strategic Plan can be found here.

The ECC's 2017 Annual Report can be found here.

The ECC's Constitution and Rules can be found here.